top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Christine

first trimester

Updated: May 23, 2022



trimester 1 breakdown!

The first trimester FLEW by! It feels like I was taking my first pregnancy test like yesterday. God is so good and I am so thankful! My previous post talks about everything pre-pregnancy and how we found out if you want to take a read!





my physical symptoms

Honestly I had no idea what to expect. All you ever hear are the horror stories on social media, so honestly I was terrified. My first trimester was honestly such a blessing and I was so thankful because I had a lot of really stressful things in life going on at the time. I feel like God was so gracious with me due to all of the difficult things I was going through.

My symptoms in the first 3 months:

- Extreme fatigue (guys I could not keep my eyes open lol and I took at least 3 naps a day)

- Couldn't sleep at night and had INSANE dreams! (my OB told me that the lack of sleep is due to your body getting you prepared to be up with baby every hour of the night, so fascinating. And the weird dreams are normal for trimester 1 due to all of the chemical changes happening in my body)

- CRAVINGS (oh my goodness I couldn't stop eating haha. I craved protein, pancakes, and a ton of pickles)

-Increased emotions + anxiety (I have been diagnosed with generalized anxiety and health anxiety over the past 3 years.. I had a lot more anxiety than I usually do-I also think a lot of this was due to my life circumstances as well)

- I wanted nothing to do with sweets (this is the complete opposite of my normal. I have the biggest sweet tooth of all time so this was so weird for me!

- HEARTBURN + INDIGESTION (this is still going on and keeps me up at night unfortunately and goes on throughout the day). Tums and Pepcid AC help!


body changes happening

I went up a cup size which is fun haha! Other than that I haven't been able to fit in my jeans and my stomach is definitely growing! It's so fun to have a little bump. It gets SO much bigger after I have a big meal. My breasts have been really tender, but have gotten less tender over time thankfully. Light cramping but that is normal and means your uterus is expanding!






how baby is doing

So far baby has been really healthy and is growing at the rate that they need to! The first time we saw the heartbeat was week 7, and baby's heartbeat was 170 bpm (their heartbeats are always faster at the beginning and then slow down). At week 12 baby's heartbeat was around 159 bpm (which is once again normal, 150's-170's are normal at 12 weeks!). Baby is now the size of a large lemon and is growing so fast! The little hands, feet, nose, ears, and hair follicles are growing and it's so cute. I already love this sweet one with ALL of my heart.



my favorite baby app

I downloaded the What To Expect app on the app store and its the best! It shows you week by week what is happening in your body, and the baby's as well! There are video's that you can watch each week that explain everything happening with baby in depth, its so fascinating!

You can download the app HERE


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page