top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Christine

we are pregnant! how we figured out

Updated: Jul 12, 2022



we are pregnant!

Gabe and I are so incredibly excited and blessed to announce that baby Ihrig will be here this November! I am now 13 weeks and in trimester 2! We are both so grateful and excited to welcome this little one into this world! I am so grateful for all of your support and love. You all have been so sweet and encouraging! We are excited to share this journey with you all!


before we knew about baby

Just a little background.. I had been off birth control for about 6 months. I asked my primary Dr how long she thought it could take to get pregnant, and she told me I could get pregnant tomorrow, or it could take a year+. We went into the process trusting God's timing and trying, but also not really trying. I was not tracking my ovulation at all and we weren't really intentionally trying. We truly just felt so much peace about whatever God's timing would be. We are going on our 4th year of marriage, and we had just settled down in Colorado (after moving different states for 3.5 years) and purchased our first home, so we felt peaceful about having all of that in place and trusted God with the rest!


how we found out

We had closed on our house on Monday, March 7th and literally two days later on Wednesday, March 9th I looked at my period tracking app and noticed that I was 40 days late lol. I was really irregular because my body was trying to regulate after going off of the pill. I had been this late before so I didn't think much about it, but for some reason I felt the need deep down to take a test. I walked into Walgreens completely calm and truly not thinking of the possibility of even being pregnant. It didn't really cross my mind much because we really hadn't been trying much and I has just gone off the pill. ANYWAYS.. I got home, sat down, took the test and OH MY GOODNESS....the test read POSITIVE. I immediately FaceTimed my best friend who has now had 3 kids, and she was like "Em, its common to get a false negative, but never a false positive. Take another one!" So I did and yet again it was positive! I immediately called my Dr's office and told them I had taken 3 tests and they were all positive. I went to my primary Dr the next day to take a urine sample and it too came back positive! Since I hadn't had my cycle in about 2 months, my primary Dr assumed I was 7ish weeks along (which did NOT seem accurate at all) but she put that in my chart and set up an ultrasound with my OB for the next week. I ended up going to my OB for the ultrasound and had something really scary/upsetting happen. During the beginning of the ultrasound, the ultrasound tech kept searching and searching and couldn't find anything. She told me word for word "I don't think there is any sign of life anymore...now it's just the waiting game." She was looking at my chart and basing her comments off of the 7 week assumption. I immediately started balling and all of the emotions hit me at once. I then saw my OB (literally sobbing in her office and couldn't stop), and she was SO kind and comforting. She simply told me that we needed to wait another 3 weeks to see if anything had developed, because I was most definitely not 7 weeks along. They saw the gestational sac which was encouraging, but didn't know much from there. After we left the office, I could not stop sobbing in the car. But I really felt the presence of the Lord and His peace. I was reminded of Jeremiah 29:11. "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." This verse brought me so much peace, and I knew that either way the Lord's plans were for our good, and that His timing would be perfect.



flash forward...

I ended up going back a few weeks later to get another ultrasound to check in on everything. I was so nervous going into that appointment, but at the same time I felt so peaceful. I knew that either way God would be by our side. I will never forget the feeling of seeing that precious little miracle on the ultrasound screen. I was measured at 4 weeks and I almost started crying on the spot! I felt so relieved and SO grateful in that moment. What a special day for us.


I cannot wait to share more with you all as we go! Thank you all for being apart of this journey!

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page